If I had to guess why, it’s probably because the shrimp were swimming in a pool of delicious olive oil, so good you could eat it by the spoonful. Of course, this isn’t the first time I’ve noticed the magic of good EVOO. I always see chefs finishing off dishes with a generous squeeze of shimmering olive oil (and usually some flaky salt, too). This final touch gives pretty much any food so much more flavor.  It’s only a handful of ingredients, but together, they taste like perfection. I’ve been trying to avoid busy recipes in favor of simpler ones. These days, I incorporate more and more meals into my cooking rotation that rely on a few great ingredients for maximum flavor. The interplay of these different textures makes restaurant food taste so unique and delicious, so I’ve been trying to be more mindful of this at home. When I’m cooking, I’ll play around with textural ingredients (a sprinkle of chopped peanuts, some thinly sliced scallions, a handful of sesame seeds, etc…) to make meals more exciting.  I’m thinking, for example, of an appetizer I ate recently, which was roasted eggplant with Calabrian chili, lemon, and olive oil. This one seemingly simple dish contains each of the elements that, together, create the perfect flavor. Whenever I eat out, I love paying attention to how restaurant dishes achieve this perfect balance.  So, I’ve started copying this tactic at home, and my favorite thing is making my own green sauce with whatever fresh herbs I have on hand. Every single time, it transforms an otherwise ordinary dish like flank steak, cod, even grilled eggplant into something delicious.  The most important part, which I notice all the time when I’m eating out, is that you want to serve the salmon skin side-up if you’re plating it with a sauce or something mushy (like risotto or couscous). That way you preserve the crisp, and it doesn’t get soggy.  Recently, I’ve come across some delicious restaurant creations like tuna tartare and bottarga on toast, brothy littleneck clams on toast, and braised leeks with ricotta on — you guessed it…toast. I always keep some sliced sourdough in my freezer, which I can reheat in seconds and top with pretty much whatever is in my fridge at the moment. Easy, delicious, and gourmet.  And the same goes for breadcrumbs. Just cut up some day-old bread into cubes, and pulse it in a food processor.  I’ve realized that making both croutons and breadcrumbs from scratch rather than reaching for the store-bought kind is one of those small adjustments that makes an enormous difference. My husband happens to be a major anchovy hater, but we recently went to dinner and ordered sautéed broccolini with bagna cáuda. He (having know idea what bagna cáuda was) licked the plate clean. That’s when I explained to him that the creamy, delicious sauce on the broccolini was actually a blend of olive oil, garlic, and, of course, anchovies. This one little ingredient is an umami-bomb that turns so many dishes into delicacies.  A good, homemade salad dressing knows no bounds. Sure, I get lazy in the kitchen like anyone else, but I always try to make my own salad dressing using what’s in my fridge whenever I have the time, even if it’s just mixing together some minced shallots, olive oil, Dijon mustard, and garlic.  There’s something about a cocktail with one, lone, giant square or circular ice cube that makes it look and taste elevated. Perhaps, this is just purely from a presentation factor, but I also think one giant ice cube melts more slowly than lots of small ice cube, and therefore preserves the integrity of a cocktail without watering it down (but hey, I’m no scientist). And all you need to make it at home is a simple ice mold tray.   Whenever I order a drink at a restaurant, I notice that a chilled glass makes such a difference in the taste of my cocktail. So, before you shake or stir up some beverages at home, pop your glassware in the freezer for a few minutes.   There is nothing like sinking your teeth into the crackling crust of a perfect roasted potato, and that is the power of duck fat. You can (and should) buy duck fat at most grocery stores to make these heavenly restaurant-style potatoes at home. But, instead of constantly manning every skillet, chefs just let the food cook, checking in from time to time and picking up tongs, a wooden spoon, or a spatula only when necessary. This lets food cook evenly so it develops flavor and that nice, golden sear on all sides. This is something I notice all the time at restaurants. I’ll order a crispy chicken dish that comes paired with a life-changing garlic lemon aioli or a simple roti that arrives at the table with a spicy red curry dipping sauce. Even if you’re not going to take the time to make a condiment, spread, or dipping sauce from scratch, having a few go-to’s in your pantry can make all the difference.  Recently, I’ve tried some delicious vegetarian dishes like tempura battered cauliflower with gochujang and labneh, charred cauliflower steak that slices like butter, and incredible mushroom carnitas tacos. I’m always keeping an eye on restaurant menus for plant-forward dishes I can try to replicate or gain inspiration from in my own kitchen. Yes, butter really does make most things better, especially pan sauces. I usually don’t go overboard with butter, but I’ve started to incorporate good butter into more of my home-cooked meals, and the results are so worth it. 

17 Very Doable Food Tips  Tricks  And Habits That I First Noticed At Restaurants  But Now Copy At Home In My Own Kitchen  - 1917 Very Doable Food Tips  Tricks  And Habits That I First Noticed At Restaurants  But Now Copy At Home In My Own Kitchen  - 9317 Very Doable Food Tips  Tricks  And Habits That I First Noticed At Restaurants  But Now Copy At Home In My Own Kitchen  - 717 Very Doable Food Tips  Tricks  And Habits That I First Noticed At Restaurants  But Now Copy At Home In My Own Kitchen  - 7717 Very Doable Food Tips  Tricks  And Habits That I First Noticed At Restaurants  But Now Copy At Home In My Own Kitchen  - 7117 Very Doable Food Tips  Tricks  And Habits That I First Noticed At Restaurants  But Now Copy At Home In My Own Kitchen  - 6217 Very Doable Food Tips  Tricks  And Habits That I First Noticed At Restaurants  But Now Copy At Home In My Own Kitchen  - 7117 Very Doable Food Tips  Tricks  And Habits That I First Noticed At Restaurants  But Now Copy At Home In My Own Kitchen  - 6617 Very Doable Food Tips  Tricks  And Habits That I First Noticed At Restaurants  But Now Copy At Home In My Own Kitchen  - 417 Very Doable Food Tips  Tricks  And Habits That I First Noticed At Restaurants  But Now Copy At Home In My Own Kitchen  - 1817 Very Doable Food Tips  Tricks  And Habits That I First Noticed At Restaurants  But Now Copy At Home In My Own Kitchen  - 3417 Very Doable Food Tips  Tricks  And Habits That I First Noticed At Restaurants  But Now Copy At Home In My Own Kitchen  - 1417 Very Doable Food Tips  Tricks  And Habits That I First Noticed At Restaurants  But Now Copy At Home In My Own Kitchen  - 54